New members of the US National Academy of Sciences in MathSciNet

National Academy of Sciences logo
The United States National Academy of Sciences has announced the newest group of members.  Of the 120 newly-elected members, 59 of them are women, the most elected in a single year.  In this post, I’ve gathered the new members whom I could find in MathSciNet, and added links to their author profiles.

Congratulations new academicians!

Newly elected members

Ajtai, Miklós; IBM Emeritus Researcher, IBM Almaden Research Center, Los Gatos, Calif.

Birman, Joan S.; emeritus research professor, department of mathematics, Barnard College, New York City.

Buonanno, Alessandra; director, Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics, Potsdam, Germany.

Cao, Hui; professor, department of applied physics, Becton Center, Yale University, New Haven, Conn.

Constantin, Peter; director, program in applied and computational mathematics, and John Von Neumann Professor, department of mathematics, Princeton University, Princeton, N.J.

Dimopoulos, Savas; Hamamoto Family Professor, department of physics, Stanford University, Stanford, Calif.

Elson, Elliot L.; alumni endowed professor emeritus, department of biochemistry and molecular biophysics, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis.

Freedman, Daniel Z.; professor emeritus of applied mathematics and physics, department of mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; visiting professor, Institute for Theoretical Physics, Stanford University, Stanford, Calif.

Guth, Larry; Claude Shannon Professor, department of mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge.

Karlin, Anna; Microsoft Professor and Bill and Melinda Gates Chair in Computer Science and Engineering, Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science and Engineering, University of Washington, Seattle.

Kearns, Michael; professor, department of computer and information science, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia.

Kitaev, Alexei Y.; Ronald and Maxine Linde Professor of Theoretical Physics and Mathematics, department of computing and mathematical sciences, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena.

LeCun, Yann; vice president and chief artificial intelligent scientist, Facebook; and Silver Professor of Computer Science, Data Science, Neural Science, and Electrical and Computer Engineering, New York University, New York City.

LeVeque, Randall J.; professor emeritus, department of applied mathematics, University of Washington, Seattle.

Mészáros, Peter; director, Center for Particle Astrophysics, and Eberly Chair, department of astronomy and astrophysics, Pennsylvania State University, University Park.

Olinto, Angela V.; dean, physical science division, and Albert A. Michelson Distinguished Service Professor, department of astronomy and astrophysics, University of Chicago, Chicago.

Petzold, Linda; distinguished professor, department of computer science, University of California, Santa Barbara.

Staffilani, Gigliola; Abby Rockefeller Mauzé Professor, department of mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge.

Zweibel, Ellen G.; W.L. Kraushaar Professor of Astronomy and Physics, department of astronomy, University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Newly elected international members

Bismut, Jean-Michel; professor, department of mathematics, Université Paris-Sud (France).

Brassard, Gilles; professor, department of computer science and operations research , Université de Montréal (Canada).

Cates, Michael E.; Lucasian Professor of Mathematics and Royal Society Research Professor, University of Cambridge (United Kingdom).

Keller, Ursula; full professor, department of physics, ETH Zürich (Switzerland).

About Edward Dunne

I am the Executive Editor of Mathematical Reviews. Previously, I was an editor for the AMS Book Program for 17 years. Before working for the AMS, I had an academic career working at Rice University, Oxford University, and Oklahoma State University. In 1990-91, I worked for Springer-Verlag in Heidelberg. My Ph.D. is from Harvard. I received a world-class liberal arts education as an undergraduate at Santa Clara University.
This entry was posted in Announcements, Mathematicians. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New members of the US National Academy of Sciences in MathSciNet

  1. Col Arvind Kumar says:

    How do I sign up or subscribe to mathscinet

    • Edward Dunne says:

      Subscriptions to MathSciNet are generally through an institutional library, such as at a university. Information about how an institution can become a subscriber is here:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

HTML tags are not allowed.

89,419 Spambots Blocked by Simple Comments